Seeing the Forest AND the Trees

Technology for a better world.

Great Happy Hour Space for Non-Profits June 27, 2008

Filed under: donating,DonorsResource,non-profit — pdxbob @ 9:21 pm

Last night I attended a Happy Hour for DonorsResource.org, the creators of the Virtual Warehouse which brings together donors and non-profit organizations in need to items (clothing, kitchen items, computers, furniture, you name it). The Happy Hour was held in the showroom space of California Closets at 1225 SE Grand Avenue in Portland. There were I’d guess fifty people who came from non-profits interested in receiving item donations, donors (such as myself), board members and other supporters of this unique service for nps.

I met some interesting people, including Jeanne Ann Van Krevelen, owner of Escalation Business Consulting, blogger at The Edgy Entrepreneur and on Twitter at JeanAnnVK. Jeanne’s blog has got some great, targeted advice for new and small business owners and non-profits. I recommend checking it out.

I also met Brenda Lee, VP of Business Development at Pavelcomm, an IT service and consultancy located in NW Portland. Pavelcomm has been providing IT services to non-profits in the area for years. Some of their clients are Cancer Care Resources and the Franciscan Spiritual Center.  They are also active with Trillium Family Services and the Doernbecher Children’s Hospital. Brenda understands the IT business. If you are looking for outsourcing IT or getting some IT help, I recommend you give them a call.

Ok, so you’ve read this far and I haven’t mentioned anything about the venue, California Closets showroom.  I was pleasantly surprised at the elegance and simplicity of this space for small happy-hour-style gatherings. California Closets provides this showroom to non-profits for such events and given its central location and relatively-easy street parking in the area, I think it is a great spot for non-profits to gather their friends and supporters for an early evening happy hour. The location was perfect for a happy hour that is very interactive. This is different from some of the events I attend where geeks get together around laptops, such as BeerAndBlog. I didn’t ask if they have WiFi but the setting is not really targeted toward the technical community.

Thanks to Kiyoshi Terada, Marketing extraordinaire for DonorsResource.org, for the invitation.

 

2 Responses to “Great Happy Hour Space for Non-Profits”

  1. Jean Ann Says:

    Bob…love your site design…wish I was as good at it as you are!
    JA

  2. pdxbob Says:

    Jean,

    Wish I could take credit for it but I can’t. It’s one of the WordPress templates. I am actually working on a completely different design for the blog which will be hosted under my own domain. But thanks! I appreciate your comment.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.